“Great literature is simple language charged with meaning to the utmost possible degree”   --- Ezra Pound
     The Department of English had its inception along with the College, in 1968. The founder teacher of the Department, Dr. B.T. Desai, a renowned scholar and critic, served the College for two years before leaving to occupy the post of Professor in CIEFL, Hyderabad. The Department since has had various teachers. Dr. C.V. S. V. Rao, who came after took over the headship in 1970. An able teacher, he joined the Science section when the College was bifurcated in 1988. He went on to head CSI College of Commerce as its Principal. Dr. R.G.Joshi, won the National Book Publisher Award and was an able teacher. Dr.V.T.Naik, served the department for 33 years; an erudite scholar, literary critics, and a good teacher, he has translated many short stories from Kannada to English and vice-versa. Prof.S.S.Antin was appointed in 1972, and has a teaching experience of nearly 36 years. He also served as a member of Senate and Academic Council, Karnatak University, Dharwad. Prof.Smt.R.S.Paul took over the charge of the department. She availed FIP to finish her doctorate from 2009.During that tenure, Dr Kamala Dhawale, took over the charge of the department. Ms Elizabeth Esther and Ms Rubina Mulla, are working as Guest-faculty.


                                                 Dr R S. Paul 
Dr M H Mulla

Venue:"Library Seminar Hall"